Soap box-

I’m seriously tired of people. (Coaches) playing favorites and then blaming my kid’s athletic ability on their lack of playtime! Not hardly coach. My kids’ abilities are equal to those others on the team…. my daughter is a freshman playing her last year on the junior high team. She’s a starter in name only. Seriously as soon as she makes a mistake, they take her out a put a short 7th grader in… (whom I’ve found out that her father is on the school board).. Nope no favoritism there! ( seriously she’s like 4’ 10”). They other teams just throw over her head, and when she passes they reach up and take it. But hey I have a big thank you cause my daughter has come home from 90% of the games crying about playing time and what’s wrong with her.. it’s so frustrating because she is a perfectionist and loves sports. She also did fantastic and made a basket tonight too. She should be happy, but she’s upset cause the coach pulls her out and replaces her with a 7th grader (daddy is on the school board).

We have a super small School, to be able to do sports , we have to combine schools. Our school has like 106 from K through 12th. The school we are combined with is also small, but a little bigger than us. Our school picks all the boys coaches and the partner School picks the girls coaches… therefore the girls coaches really don’t get a chance to see our girls until practices, where the other girls have had these coaches as teachers and gym coaches for years in some cases.

My 7th grader never gets caught up in why didn’t I get to play, etc. However tonight she was also crying. I had a car full of crying upset girls all the way home. I told my 7th grader, before she even signed up for basketball 🏀, that she would have ‘to ride the pine’ , because that’s what 7th graders do. Apparently not though because one of her classmates ( whose daddy is on the school board) 😙 plays a lot. In fact, she replaces my eldest…… seriously screwed up…..

My husband is so tired of the whole thing. So we keep trying to spin it. So maybe the girls won’t feel so bad about themselves. The only reason we ever allowed the girls to play sports to begin with was to teach them confidence. Getting up in front of a lot of strangers and performing. This was the ultimate goal. NOT competing in high school drama all over again!

I am not going to get put down because I don’t know the right people. That’s bullshit.

My daughters are talented at basketball. 🏀 too bad they can’t see that. I know this both of my girls have the highest grades on their team for sure.. No one has a better GPA than my girls. They can’t take that away…

Remember this, one day School will be over.. Basketball will be over… what are you going to do then? How are you going to successfully navigate life without smarts?

Leave a comment